Project Create

the biography of a nonprofit

Making Progress

Hello, I hope everyone is having a great summer so far.

It has certainly been a busy last few weeks for me. I have finally moved down to New Orleans, and could not be happier down here. However, I have had plenty to do to get settled in, and there have been plenty of distractions drawing me away from Project Create (including the birth of my niece – the most perfect child ever created!).

Nevertheless, I am still 100% behind this company and I have made some progress.

First, I have completed my 501(c)3 application and it is just about ready to be sent in. The only barrier to this is the $750 application fee. My move has had a lot of unexpected expenses, so I need to build up a little more financial security personally before I can cut that check.

Second, I have reevaluated where and how Project Create will officially begin. Now that I have been in New Orleans for a few weeks, I realized that the Project Create I initially envisioned (a complete studio set up with various media and teaching classes daily) is something that I need to work towards. It is a bit more practical to start off small and mobile. I am now reaching out to the community to find host locations where I can provide the supplies and instruction. This is not side-lining the studio space aspect of Project Create, rather utilizing other alternatives.

I recently submitted my application to partner with New Orleans Recreation Department Commission (NORDC) as one of their Fall Programs. If I am accepted as one of the 2012 Fall Programs, Project Create will have a scheduled time slot at one (or more) of the NORDC facilities to teach classes and hold open art sessions. This would be HUGE!!!

Along that vein, I have also made some progress in coming up with specific artwork for classes and DIY ideas for open art sessions. I will create a separate blog post for those, but I can tell you that I have recently become obsessed with woodworking and furniture building!

Finally, I am looking into using the crowdfunding site Fundly (rather than Kickstarter – but I would love to hear any feedback on why either is better…) to raise initial funds for supplies (and possibly the 501(c)3 application). I am hoping to have that launched later this afternoon, so wish me luck in this. So far, everything I have done has been with my personal account, and now that I have left the legal profession, I find that I do not have as much money coming in as going out! I need my fundraising to be successful to get Project Create off the ground.

Now that I am finally settled in here in New Orleans (I write this as I look at the unpacked box in my living room), I am ready to go full force in launching Project Create. You can expect to hear a lot more from me!!! Stay tuned, and be on the look out for our first fundraiser…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Making Progress

  1. free penny press on said:

    Awesome news today.. been wondering how things were going with you and the move..What part of NOLa did you settle in? Oh I have tons of questions..:-)
    You know I support you 100000% and look forward to your updates..I have a few links and such you may or may not know about..and some folks that write for NOLAVIE & Gambit.. I’ll message that when I get to my persoanl laptop tonight..

  2. Courtney on said:

    I love to hear about your updates and I can’t wait until you are fully up and running!

Leave a Reply

